I Don't Fear The Chaos!

Questioning Everything and Everyone!

  • Wankers Of The Week Archive
  • For readers outside of Wordpress: Enter your email address to Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 48 other followers

Garden Project

Posted by DeadAnarchistPhil on September 26, 2009

I’ve recently got my arse in gear and started doing some work in the house and garden again. Being ‘sick’ on three fronts and living where I do it’s hard to get motivated, but I’ve managed to sort myself out somewhat and I’ve been busy in the garden preparing it for next Spring.

Ever since I was a kid on the council estate in the masionettes I wanted a garden, a place for some privacy from everyone else on the estate. Where I lived on the ground floor there was a grassy area behind the masionettes backed by an iron fence painted black, some front door areas had grass too, however we had a brick area in front of ours. Even though there was a grassy area behind our house it was looked upon as private and also communal, depending who you ask. People who’s living rooms backed on to the area didn’t want children or people playing/walking behind it as when you walked past the windows you could obviously see straight in their house, there was also the possibility that a football could easily put a window in.

So I used to play behind our house sometimes digging holes and looking at the weeds, plants and insects that lived there, I couldn’t play unhindered for long as people would tell you to “shift!” because I was wandering near their houses or older local lads would come by and make fun of me for looking at plants digging holes and playing with toys, something that was natural for a boy of four to eight year-old (that was when I used to play behind there). I was more at home crawling through undergrowth and looking at plants and animals than playing football, messing about on street corners or pointlessly walking around the streets doing nothing. Of course I got a lot of stick for this but that’s another story.

On the old estate there was such a lack of privacy unless you lived on the second floor, no one could see in your window. So when we moved to our new house when I was 13 I loved the fact I had a garden to mess in without anyone bothering me. Didn’t turn out like that because at the back of my house is a 16 floor block of flats and everyone can over see your garden and what you’re doing in it. So I planted two Leylandiia trees to block the view, it worked and did block they’re view, but now they’re too big and they have to come down. Once they do everyone can see in to the garden again and I aint happy about that!

So what I want to do is the move two of the three Butterfly bushes I have to the back of the Garden and let them grow as tall as possible, I don’t think they’ll grow as big as the Leylandiia trees but they’re fast growing and better than nothing!

Here’s what I’ve done so far…

This was on the day I started cleaning things up, it was filmed about a week ago.
           
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        This is it now, it still isn’t done yet but looks a lot better, even if you can’t see the detail because of the camera I use. The glare is a little strong, sorry about that.
                             

I still have a few plans for the garden that I need to draw up, when I’ve done them I’ll share them with you in a blog. Looks like it will only be basic stuff though because I’m short on funds!

I’ll leave you with this rather fat Spider! It was as big is it looks!
                              

4 Responses to “Garden Project”

  1. ... Twisted said

    And I thought the spiders in our garden were big … that one\’s huge!They were quite enjoyable videos to watch 🙂 I reckon your lawns beter than ours, at least you haven\’t got a lawn full of dandelions haha. I was keeping a photo album of how my garden was progresing last year but then the old PC died and screwed the hard drive up, so this year I hadn\’t bothered.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. Amanda said

    Love the spider….NOT !!! How can you brave having it crawl over you ?? Made my skin crawl watching it LOLGlad you got out and did gardening, its a nice feeling when you have a little retreat to go to, and it\’s efforts are a credit to you. I just wish i had a garden, i miss not having one, but i don\’t miss the gardening side of it…toooo many SPIDERS !!!!!Hugs xxxxxx

  3. HRH Daf said

    Hey Phil! Aw what a loverly blog. Well done you cos I bet that was hard work. Mind you I did find it slightly off putting that while I was watching the first one, due to the transparency of your blog I kept getting glimses of your background lady\’s crotch. Is that the seedier side of suburban life? ;O)And did you have to finish with the monster spider? Id just finished goin aaaaaaw at your pussy cat then you spring that fat little bug on me *shudders* Have a great start to the week!Hugs Daf xx

  4. Pete said

    Although I am not a big fan of gardening – that is Mrs J\’s department – I do like the idea of having a garden where I do not fell i am on display. Living in a terraced house all the gardens look over on to each others, you can see into each others houses and over the wall it\’s a similar story with the houses who\’s backs faces ours. So whilst we have a little garden , it is not exactly a bolt hole to hide away from the world. Hopefully you can keep enjoying yours.I was reflecting on a few weeks earlier this year when everytime I went to the local Asda, they had a different policy on bags and I mean, literally on a daily basis. I was ridiculous, you would have some jumped up check out numpty telling you that bags were now taxable – which they aren\’t – or spout off some nonsense about protecting the environment…..yeah, Asda really care about the environment above profits, don\’t they?My biggest problem was that they – and other retailers – act like we are a bunch of idiots and can\’t see through all the crap they peddle us. At the moment plastic bags appear to be freely available again but only until they become a topic of media debate again. At the risk of coming up with a good idea, what chance the retailers look at the tons of unnecessary packaging they use….??Have a good weekPete

Leave a Reply

 
