I Don't Fear The Chaos!

Questioning Everything and Everyone!

  • Wankers Of The Week Archive
  • For readers outside of Wordpress: Enter your email address to Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 48 other followers

Art Review: George (The Tragic Ugly Duckling).

Posted by DeadAnarchistPhil on February 4, 2010

As you know I only ever pick cyber friends on MySpace via the content of their profile, to look for substance and character! The Artist I’m going to review today is no exception and has character, substance and also talent by the bucket load! Well I think she does, whether you think so or not depends on you and your personal taste. I advise you visit the links provided to make up your own mind after reading, as I don’t want you to take my word or opinion as your own. I stumbled upon George (The Tragic Ugly Duckling!) randomly browsing as I usually do, I can’t remember what profile picture she had at the time but it attracted me for some reason. When I opened her page the head line hit me: “I’m the best Gay in the world!”. That made me laugh, which is a good start, then I had a look at her ‘General’ section, and it said this:

I like to think of myself as a “Dream Engineer”, I love the unlimited imagination of humans and I love creating things!

That would have been enough for me, I wouldn’t have to read any more, with an opener like that anything else would be secondary and a bonus! Being a person who likes to create in numerous different ways myself, I could instantly relate to what she said. It usually annoys me a little when somebody else sums up what I’ve tried to express, mostly because I like to be the one doing that! I decided I’d let George have this one though! Despite the great opener I carried on to have a further read of the page and hopefully see some of her work. There wasn’t any art work in her profile but the profile did have some spots of humour, something that I would later see more of when I befriended her.

After a few interesting message chats, in which more of her humour came out, she gave me her Deviant Art page link. I went on over there, I’d recently made myself an account on there a few months before, and had a gander. At first, when I saw she drew her work in the Japanese Manga style I was a little disappointed, not because she was bad at it, the opposite in fact… she was great! It’s just these days, especially on Deviant Art, everyone draws in a Japanese style, to me it just seems a lot of people have such talent but no individual style or balls to try something different. I know there’s not many different avenues for art to go these days, but people do have an individual style they could utilise instead fo drawing picture perfect Manga/Anime versions of their work.

Despite the Manga style I had a look a little deeper, I don’t just like to dismiss art work out-right, unless of course you’re Tracy Emin, in which case anything you could do would always be complete shite, because you’re a spanner. Here’s the first picture I saw of George’s:

                                             Zebrahawk (Post Communist)

                                            Photobucket

Yes, George didn’t know why she called her that either, so this particular character has been without a name for over a year! My suggestion of “Commie Kym” was shot down faster than Father Christmas flying over Iran! Any name suggestions for this particular character would be most welcome! Anyway, back on subject! So instead of glancing at her work from the Gallery page and went on for a closer look and I liked it! Well I liked Zebrahawk at first glance anyway! Yes, it’s Manga-ish, but the more I look at it the less Manga it gets to me! Mostly because I can see her outside the Manga Genre, though I don’t think that’s what George had in mind for her. Even though it’s Manga she does elements of her own style with it. Unlike the many other Mangaesque art by other people on Deviant Art. On of the things that is the same on this offering as some others, is the unbuttoned pants and untied laces. To me, it’s somewhat impractical if you’re a mercenary for higher, running around with your shirt open, pants loose and shoes liable to fly off will leave you face down on the ground! A lot of Manga, in fact many non-manga have impractical clothes or useless additions to their attire, that’s the way of fantasy drawing. It’s also the look of this character, she is supposed to look informal and less rigid because it’s a post-Communist setting. So I can over look it if the over all picture is good, which it is!

Just to contrast with the above picture, this is Zebrahawk in the Communist days:

                                                  Zebrahawk (Communist era)

                       Photobucket 

                                            And this is her after a revamp:

               Photobucket

                                                                    Tie your bloody laces!

                                                                         Picture Untitled

                                            Photobucket

I like this untitled work.Though to me it screams: “Impractically long hair for fighting!” I still like it! I think where she made this a black a white piece because she was “too lazy to colour it” worked in her favour. Not sure I would’ve been as fond of this if it’d had been coloured. I think the black and white highlights the detail on the characters better than colour could. When I draw my own work I feel the same before I colour it! Like other work of George’s she is more a foreground or central artist. The backgrounds usually aren’t as full of action and detail as the forefront is. But who’s looking at the background with forefront action like the above anyway? I would say leave it to someone who’s good at it, but in the animation or comics industry you must be able to turn your hand to what your employer wants you to. So I would say George needs to improve her background and scenery work.

Mulan: Photobucket

This is a background I like of George’s. It’s simple, yes, but I think it fits the scene just right. The flags could do with a little bit more definition, as could the sky. Otherwise I likes it!

I’ve only focused on three characters here, which are my favourites by the way, if you look at her site you will see there’s far too many to write a large review, even though I’d like to. There are many more I think you should take a look at if you like what you’ve seen here. Even if you don’t you should still go to her site, you may see something you do like! George can turn her hand to a variety of drawing styles, not just the Japanese type, though that is her favourite. I think it’s safe to assume so anyway! It’s obvious to me George is a talented individual, who has many ideas with fits and bouts of creativity. She’s shows such dedication to her craft she cramps her hand and hurts her shoulder on a regular basis! She does all this for a hobby and because she enjoys it, would you believe me if I told you she doesn’t work in the Animation/Comic industry? It’s a damn shame really because she’s untapped talent waiting to go, though it doesn’t help the UK isn’t exactly animation central, especially for her prefered area. I do hope George achieves her dreams of being an animation/comic book artist, or whatever her ultimate dream is doing what she loves!

This is the Deviant Art page for George’s work: The Tragic Ugly Duckling on Deviant Art.

This the Facebook fan page for her work: The Tragic Ugly Duckling on Facebook.

Art work was made and belongs to George (Tragic Ugly Duckling) ©2007-2010

7 Responses to “Art Review: George (The Tragic Ugly Duckling).”

  1. HRH Daf said

    Hey Phil! Aaaaaaaaah no worries, I know it can be a bit quiet round here these days, so possibly not the best platform if theres alot you wanna say. Still nice to see you round the old gaff though :O)And you had steak pies??? Any left cos its nearly lunch time and I reckon I could eat a hoss today.Hope your feeling chipper!Hugs Daf xxx

  2. Pete said

    Hey mate,Hope your well and good to hear from youThe blog? Ah, it\’s just a bit of fun…..me and a certain pink lady have been bemoaning the lack of entertainment on spaces nowadays so recently we have been amusing ourselves – this week we challenged each other to write the most mind numbingly boring blog……I think I won that one although it was mighty close!! The blog was based on a true experience though – we did run out of teaspoons….I just went over to Starbucks to steal a few more!! Although the actual thought process of my blog was inspired by a ridiculously dull man I have the misfortune to work withBeen busy recently as I have been developing an idea for a small business which I hope to get of the ground in the coming months. I need to meet a number of people first then who knows, if it all falls together I could be working for myself by the end of July….but there is still a lot of work to be done, people to meet and decisions to be made – otherwise things are wellTake care and be goodPete

  3. Pete said

    Hey mate,Sorry it has been a while but for one boring reason or another, never have quite seemed to get here!!I read your story about your sister with a lot of sadness because it is typical of the ridiculous society we live in. Here we have a young woman who is desperate to work, applies for jobs and makes every effort to get them and has even taken a course at her own expense to improve her chances yet all she gets is threats of having her dole cut off if she doesn\’t do this and that – yet the same job centre will be full of hoodie clad dickheads who get no such threats because lets be honest, we can\’t be infringing their civil liberties by threatening them if they don\’t look for job, can we now?I see day in day out people who just make the effort and clearly look like they just need to show up to get a job – and as in the little incident with me, they wont take one iota of blame when things don\’t go right even when it is their own fucking fault. I feel for your sis because there are so many like her who just want to do an honest days work in a chosen profession, but faces so many ridiculou barriers – i hope someone takes a chance on her soon. For the record, they can\’t really do anything if she spends some money on a course – the scum spend all their money on drugs don\’t they??Take care mate and I\’ll be back again soon and hey, don\’t sell yourself short, we are always our own worst critic but I think your work is goodPete

  4. HRH Daf said

    Hey Phil! Oh I like these (specially the bottom one). I like all sorts of art, although I do think some contemporary is a heap of crap, and I think theres some really lush Manga stuff (although I agree this is more manga-esque if you know what I mean). Your friend is very talented – hope she manages to make a career out of it!You ever draw or paint or anything? Just you mention creating stuff and I wondered what you were talking about (other than the written word obviously :O)Hope you have a great start to the week!Hugs Daf xx

  5. Prenin said

    Hi Phil! :o)Yeah it was certainly a unique way to spend two and a half years of my life, but I helped Emily through University (She got a 2/2 in English) to become a teacher and now has a daughter called Isabel and gave my God daughter Becky (now a mother of three) a hand through college even though they used her as bait in a honey trap after I was released from psychiatric care – I guess they thought that they had the edge given I was as loopy as a rat in a plugged up sh*t house, but you can\’t change somebody into a monster even if you DO own everyone around him!!!When that particular episode failed they threatened to burgle my home because I wasn\’t co-operating and it put Pat and Neil\’s marriage on the line because I accidentally let slip about Neil\’s repeated infidelity, not knowing that the whole thing was being recorded, every word overheard by the family, and Pat beat the shit out of him! :o)Pat and the girls DID look after me though and after it was all over they\’d take me shopping for clothes, I got to enjoy birthday drinks (Pat and I have birthdays four days apart) every year and took me back as a member of the family.I guess the fact I looked after all Pat\’s kids without even the suspicion of a problem was kind of forgotten while the media were running around with open cheque books…They\’ve been trying to get me to look after their kids – I ended up looking after Leo, Richard and Bonnie at Christmas – but there\’s no way I\’d do it full time any more as it took suspicion and greed – not proof – to have my life destroyed.Even so, at least I can sleep nights while Bob is generally hated by those that know him because he\’s a well known bully, thug and informer who thinks of himself as a power in the community because he sold me to the local gangsters – when in fact he\’s a very poorly man having had several heart attacks and needs his wife\’s financial support because he didn\’t get himself a pension and is living on minimal benefits.I hope he rots in Hell for all eternity…God Bless!Prenin.

  6. Prenin said

    Hi Phil! :o)Yep: VERY nice artwork and not too tied to Manga!I used to collect Manga wallpapers (I still have folders full on my HDD) and really liked the stuff until it all dried up over the past few years, especially \’Giant Robot\’ stuff – I have several Manga videos based on the giant robot theme – and associated music.Your friend has a talent all her own and I hope she finds a use for it, because true talent like hers should never be wasted!God Bless!Prenin.

  7. Pete said

    Hello mate,Hope all is wellMust admit not really have much of an interest in art of this nature but it is very impressive but I am also impressed with your words, thoughts and insight into the work – maybe an avenue to a career and if I remember rightly, you can draw a little as wellJust for an update, things went OK with the friend – take it slowly, one day at a time and we\’ll see but despite the explanations, sincere apologies and and pledges of better behavious, I am still a little cautious – time will have to heal this one!Take carePete

Leave a Reply

 
