I Don't Fear The Chaos!

Questioning Everything and Everyone!

  • Wankers Of The Week Archive
  • For readers outside of Wordpress: Enter your email address to Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 48 other followers

Ulcerative Colitis Diary: Week 1 on Prednisolone

Posted by DeadAnarchistPhil on January 25, 2011

 

                                                        WEEK 1

I say the UC Prof last week (Jan 12th 2011), he couldn’t give me the Prednisolone because he was going to be moving on from his job there. So I had to see my regular Doctor at the local surgery to get them. I went on Tuesday 18th of January 2011. I got my Flu vac before I saw the Doc, who I had an interesting and shocking chat with about the NHS, but that’s a subject for another blog. I’m going to need help from that vac while I’m on Prednisolone as it reduces the immune system response in my body. My immune system may be reduced, but I still have one and it needs all the help it can get.

Green = How well I feel 1 being the best and 10 being the worse.

Blue = Depression. Again, on a scale as above.

Medication, Direction and Course as follows:

Prednisolone : Take four 5mg Tablets daily for four weeks, then cut down to one tablet a day each week over the next four weeks.

Day 1 Tue 18th Jan 2011: I was already feeling bloated and uncomfortable on this day, so if taking the Prednisolone was to cause any problems I probably wouldn’t know. Anyway, took four 5mg Prednisolone tablets. No noticeable effects. (5/10) (5/10)

Day 2 Wed 19th Jan 2011: Haven’t been to the toilet properly yet, so I’m going to count that as an effect. I did go and did bleed, but not like I usually do. Felt down on and off, which is normal for me on any given day.  (5/10) (6/7)

Day 3 Thu 20th Jan 2011:  Not been to the toilet all day, but have felt bloated all day. I’ve been feeling depressed all day, more longer than usual. My obsessive mindset is more active. It’s making me feel more Nihilistic, isolated, angry and sad. I have a feeling these will be a constant throughout the course. Though I expected as much, just annoys the shit out of me, along with the rapid heartbeat! (6/10) (7/10)

Day 4 Fri Jan 21st 2011: Today I was on the toilet for over two hours, that was mostly due to not going every day like I usually do due to the UC. I must eat less so as not to feel so bloated and full. It’s hard to believe the amount I used to eat before I got UC, I can eat a lot now, but nowhere near like I used to. The only reason I put weight on is because I eat small portions of rubbish foods. Anyway, my mood hasn’t been that down today, been sort of level, I think when I do get in to a depressed state the Prednisolone makes it worse or prolongs it. So, Must try to stay positive! 😛 (5/10) (5/10)

Day 5 Sat Jan 21st 2011: Well, today, I was neutral when I woke up, and gradually become sort of happier, I was giggly and laughing. This happens now and again with my mood (not very often), so I don’t know if I can put this mood down to natural fluctuations or the Prednisolone. Anyway, I had some spicy tomato sauce with poppadoms, um, shouldn’t have done that! Sent me to the toilet, 5 or 6 times! I did bleed. I got sick of eating cheesy sauces, pasta and Chicken! Wont be eating the tom sauce again! (6/10) (3/10)

Day 6 Sun 22nd 2011: Feel low again today, not much to eat but muffins and spam, oh and Potatoes! Wonderful! I now hate spam! Potatoes are going to be next! Feeling a little ill since I ate the tomato sauce. Not much change so far.  (6/10) (6/10)

Day 7 Mon 23rd 2011: Woke up late today, 11:30am, not a good thing for me. I like to try and keep a routine, otherwise I end up sleeping 12 hours and waking up for 3 to 4 hours, then bed again. It isn’t good for my mood or my health. So I’m gonna try and fix that. When I got up this morning I went to the toilet, only twice though, which was a relief! I did bleed, but not much. So far the UC still seems to be the same and the only noticeable side effect is a rapid heart beat. (5/10)  (5/10)

 

                                                Photobucket

                                                                                      This stuff is just vile!

7 Responses to “Ulcerative Colitis Diary: Week 1 on Prednisolone”

  1. prenin said

    So far so good Phil – remember you were bleeding before you took the meds, so healing time will be required even if the meds are working.

    I have a damaged nose that bleeds occasionally and takes about a week to heal, so don’t be surprised if you bleed for a few weeks – the damage won’t disappear like magic overnight.

    Patience is required for all of us…

    God Bless my friend and get well soon! 🙂

    Prenin.

    • Hiya Ian! 🙂

      Yeh, I wasn’t really expecting results so soon, would be a little silly to think so. Yeh, I was bleeding before, and as I recall, when I last took these meds it took maybe three weeks, or three months I can’t remember, to work fully. So, we’ll see what happens!

      About your nose, you can get it Corterised. They offered it my brother when he was a kid, he had one nostril done, but it hurt so much he didn’t have the other done. He still has nose bleeds from that nostril today.

      Thanks you thoughts on the subject, Ian! Talk to you soon! 🙂

      • prenin said

        Hi Phil! 🙂

        The septum is broken from a beating dad gave me when I was 8yo, so getting it cauterised wouldn’t make much difference – and as you said, it’s be bloody painful! LoL!!!

        It’s healing slowly year on year, but all it takes is a big sneeze and I leak!

        Hopefully by the time I die it’ll have stopped, but if not, then tough| LoL!!!

        This is the first time I’ve had a bad bleed in nearly six years and I suspect I did it to myself trying to catch the sneeze in a handkerchief – the nerves are shot on that side so I wouldn’t feel it…

        God Bless my friend!

        Prenin.

  2. Pete Judge said

    So I think it would be fair to say a bit an indifferent reaction to the prednisolone. It does take a little while for most meds to work in tune with your system. I just really hope in the end they work for you and you don’t have to start the search again.

    Shouldn’t laugh – but I can’t imagine you giggling….well apart from a manic giggle when throwing darts at a picture of cameron!

    Keep your chin up mate, I hope things will slowly start to improve.
    Look forward to the NHS blog
    Regards
    Pete

    • Hiya Mate! 🙂

      Yeh, I’d say that too. I will only be these for 2 months as a test run, see how I react to them. I have a feeling I may need more, I think I was on a higher dose last time, so this course may extend beyond the 2 month they’ve planned. I think these will work, just a matter of getting the dose right and not creating more adverse effects.

      Hahaha me giggling? Was more or of a laugh, but yeh, when I throw at my dartboard there’s a few faces up there and I am manic! How did you know that anyway? lol

      The NHS blog will be coming, just need to research what he said and see how true it is, I got a feeling it is.

      Thanks for your thoughts and words mate, much appreciated as always! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
