I Don't Fear The Chaos!

Questioning Everything and Everyone!

  • Wankers Of The Week Archive
  • For readers outside of Wordpress: Enter your email address to Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 48 other followers

Ulcerative Colitis Diary: Week Two On Prednisolone

Posted by DeadAnarchistPhil on January 31, 2011

                                                           Week Two

Green = How well I feel 1 being the best and 10 being the worse.

Blue = Depression. Again, on a scale as above.

Treatment for: Ulcerative Colitis.

Medication, Direction and Course as follows:

Prednisolone : Take four 5mg Tablets daily for four weeks, then cut down to one tablet a day each week over the next four weeks.

Day 8 Tue 24th 2011: I feel bloated, not been to the toilet today, I don’t like when my body holds on to it for a few days. Though, having said that, I’m having more of these days, which is a good thing as I never had them is this frequency without the Prednisolone. (?) (?)

Day 9 Wed 25th 2011: Still feel bloated and not been to the toilet yet. Mood, low-ish. No other differences. (6/10) (5/10)

Day 10 Thu 26th 2011: Sleeping pattern well and truly back to front, so spoke to Daff and Sam for a few hours in early hours while writing a blog. Later in the evening, when I woke, had to go to the toilet. Gotta say, felt better! Hey! Who doesn’t right? hahaha. Wasn’t as bad as last time pain and time wise, which could be a good sign! (4/10) (6/10)

Day 11 Fri 27th 2011: Seeing as I slept most of the Day, this isn’t really an entry for the day, because I’ll be up all night. But for the sake of not complicating things I’ll write it anyway. Woke up, was a little bloated, had a pain in my left side, had at all last night. So far I haven’t been to the toilet. Things seem same as always, besides the rapid heart beat I get with these tablets. I woke up about three or four hours after getting to sleep with a rapid heart beat, like I’d been running or something. Went away anyway. These funny sleeping hours make my mood worse and make me want to sleep more often too, which isn’t a good thing. (5/10) (6/10)

Day 12 Sat 28th 2011: Woke up in the afternoon with a pain in my left side, just under my rib cage. I’ve had it a few times (before the steroids), there’s a lump there too, not sure if it’s just a pulled muscle or something else. Will ask the Doc about it next time I see him.

Other than that woke up with bloating. Went to the toilet, felt better afterwards. It was a little better formed, so progress seems to be being made. However, unless I have this all the time then it isn’t getting better and could just be a blip. We’ll see what happens. Um, it’s 1am on Sunday 29th and got a morning of sod all to do! (4/10) (5/10)

Day 13 Sun 29th 2011: Got to sleep around 6AM Sunday Morning, woke up around 1:30PM. Will be awake now for the rest of the day, and will go to bed around 11pm. So far no been to the toilet and there’s been no pain yet, but a little bit of bloating as of  7:48pm. Current mood and feeling: (4/10) (6/10). Got  to bed quite early, 12am.

Day 14 Mon 30th 2011: Woke up 10AM or so, wasn’t bloated but was hungry. After that I went to my room and messed with the guitar for a while, it still isn’t tuned! Will try again soon. I end up feeling really tired around 3:10PM, not sure if it was medications, illness, mood or a combo of all! I’ve had it before so it isn’t the Steroids doing it.  I slept for about two hours! I’m going to be up late again tonight because of that! I noticed I’ve been peeing more than I usually do. Not sure if that’s the steroids or not. But if you think about it, I will have an excess of water if my bowel is working properly? Stands to reason if my motions are being dehydrated properly? Anyway, things seem to be a little calmer, though I’m not going to say 100%, because not everything is as it seems or can go backwards pretty quickly with this illness! (4/10) (7/10)

Day 14-15 30th 1st: (UPDATE) Can’t sleep, have a rapid heart beat on and off. I really am out of reasons why my sleeping pattern goes tits up or I just can’t sleep some times. Is it medication, natural or illness? Either way, my appetite is getting bigger and I can eat more too without bloating, which I couldn’t do before! However, must have some self-control. Ah wait, I have none!

So I’m awake at 4:35AM and I’m feeling all fucked off and Nihilistic.

Ah! That’s better! 😀

____________________________________

Links To Other Weeks:

Week One

____________________________________

6 Responses to “Ulcerative Colitis Diary: Week Two On Prednisolone”

  1. harshglare said

    I read an article recently and I thought you would be interested so looked for you on MySpace: seems you have made good on your promise and left …

    …but me thinks you have a stealth profile somewhere….

    …anyway:

    you should look into a fecal transplant…

    …I’M SERIOUS:

    no sh!t..

    I read about this:

    The donor takes a stool softener the night before and then gives a full morning bowel movement to the recipient, who takes it to a doctor for screening. It’s important to make sure that the sample doesn’t contain any parasites or other pathogens, such as hepatitis, salmonella, or HIV. Once the transplant material has been cleared, the doctor mixes it with saline to make about a pint of liquid with the consistency of a milkshake. This is pumped into the patient’s colon using a colonoscope or endoscope, or siphoned into the stomach via a nasogastric tube.

    it is said that you could do this yourself at home with a blender:

    SERIOUS:

    read it here:

    http://www.slate.com/id/2282768

    • Thanks for thinking of me, Man! 🙂

      I already knew about this a few years back, they’re not trying this in the UK as far as I know. And as the article says that’s only for c-diff, the pieces I read about with UC are promising though. I don’t think I’m going to be blending any of my families shite and then sticking it up my own arse any time soon! However, if trials go ahead and they’re successful, then I’ll do it! If it means being free of UC and the meds, then I’d do it.

      I left MySpace in Oct or Nov 2010, but yeh, I do have a stealth profile, but I haven’t used it either. Remember the Adolf Hitler bloke that came to your blog that time? That’s mah stealth one! Surprised you didn’t suss me out.

      Thanks for the link ups, send us some more if you come across anyway! 🙂

  2. prenin said

    So far so good dude, but check with the doc about that lump ASAP!!!

    If it’s not supposed to be there, then it’s best to get it checked right away!

    Sounds like you are improving dude, but it’s early days yet!

    Take it easy!!!

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

    • Yeh, so far so good man! Not had any bad adverse reactions so far. And that lump has been there beforehand, I will see the Doc soon anyway and ask him to have a look at it.

      Cheers, Ian. Have a good evening! 🙂

  3. Pete Judge said

    Comparing this to week 1 I can see some areas of improvements, but it hasn’t been without its problems, especially how much this has fucked up your sleeping – which wasn’t the best to begin with.
    But, there are positive signs and I hope they are ones you will cling to – I can’t help noticing a lower average on the green numbers too.

    I would get that lump checked though and the pains in your side…..trapped wind?
    Take care and stay positive

    Pete

    • Well, it’s hard to tell from my end, things fluctuate all the time, though some of things have been more frequent. I aint sure if the steroids are responsible for the sleeping pattern cock up, again, it’s hard to tell.

      Yeh, the UC sick feeling is going down a little, just wish it would stay low, again, doesn’t always do that.

      When I said my side, I meant that pain, it’s on the left side of my upper body, where I pointed it out. However, I do get pain in my left side (the flank), and it’s usualy bloating.

      Cheers mate and I’m trying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
