I Don't Fear The Chaos!

Questioning Everything and Everyone!

  • Wankers Of The Week Archive
  • For readers outside of Wordpress: Enter your email address to Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 48 other followers

Ulcerative Colitis Diary: Week Four On Prednisolone

Posted by DeadAnarchistPhil on February 15, 2011

                                                                                   WEEK FOUR

Green = How well I feel 1 being the best and 10 being the worse.

Blue = Depression. Again, on a scale as above.

Treatment for: Ulcerative Colitis.

Medication, Direction and Course as follows:

Prednisolone : Take four 5mg Tablets daily for four weeks, then cut down to one tablet a day each week over the next four weeks.

Day 22 Tue 8th Feb 2011: Went to bed early yesterday, around 10PM, slept untill 5AM when I woke up. Was a wake for half an hour when I had to go to the toilet. Went four times, no blood, becoming more formed, but still have involuntary straining. I’m getting sick of my limited choice of food, I dreamed I was eating beef burgers last night, then realised I was eating them and had to stop eating! Hopefully my sleeping pattern will stay constant now for at least a month.

Can’t keep my eyes open, going to bed, it’s 7:30pm. (4/10) (6/10)

Day 23 Wed 9th Feb 2011: Woke up at 2AM and can’t get back to sleep, don’t want another day of tiredness, but I’m expecting it. So far don’t feel too bad, no cramps or bloating, just a funny feeling, and that’s to do with being up so damn early!

I’m feeling tired again, can’t think straight and have that Nihilistic feeling again. And it’s only 8:23AM!

I went to sleep for two hours during the day. Went to bed around 10PM. Only some minor bloating (5/10) (6/10)

Day 24 Thu 10th Feb 2011: Woke up at 7AM, feel a little bloated, will use the toilet later at some point.

Went to the toilet but didn’t have much. But have to say, been the most formed it’s been for a long time! Not had any blood either! Going to bed at 10PM, am knackered! (4/10) (6/10)

Day 25 Fri 11th Feb 2011: Woke up at 7:10AM, felt a little bloated but now the feelings subsided. Not been to the toilet yet, but considering I haven’t, I don’t have much discomfort!

I went to the toilet and it was better formed again, no blood and I only went three times! Not so much abdominal pain afterwards either! Things are getting better!

Went to bed at 10:15pm. (4/10) (5/10)

Day 26 Sat 12th Feb 2011: Woke up at 5:50AM, came down, had some muffins. Don’t feel that bad today, though I do feel tired still.

Felt a  little off throughout the day, my OCD and Anxiety have gotten worse over the last few days, and it’s really annoying me! Went to bed at 10:30PM. (5/10) (6/10)

Day 27 Sun 13th Feb 2011: Woke up at 6:05AM, had to go to the toilet and things have gone back to square one again. It wasn’t formed and I bled. Seeing as I haven’t eaten anything I shouldn’t have, I can only assume it’s my mood caused by the OCD and Anxiety. (Though my numbers are in the middle on the depression scale that doesn’t mean they weren’t higher than that at some point during the day. I usually just take an average for that day.) I don’t think I’m ever going to be free of them!

Because I was already bleeding I did a very foolish thing, I had some noodles with onions and peppers mixed in with them. I thought it wouldn’t matter as I was already bleeding, and I was sick to death of eating the same foods. We’ll see what happens tomorrow. Bed time was 10:30pm.  (5/10) (6/10)

Day 28 Mon 14th Feb 2011: Woke up at 7:20AM, went for some breakfast and then had to use the toilet, it wasn’t formed, but, there was no blood, despite the fact I ate veg! I’m somewhat confused about that right now!

I’m still confused about the lack of blood earlier today! Anyway, I’m feeling fucked off, OCD and Anxiety playing it’s part again! 4PM.

Tomorrow I go down to one tablet a day, the weaning off stage, and as I thought, I’ve not made the progress I needed. I may have to go and see the Doc and ask for an extension of the higher dose. Though I don’t fancy the idea of sitting in a waiting room for 20 minutes only to be in with the Doc a few for 2 minutes! I’ll try to ring up. Went to bed at 11PM (6/10) (6/10)

____________________________________

Links To Other Weeks:

Week Three

Week Two

Week One

____________________________________

8 Responses to “Ulcerative Colitis Diary: Week Four On Prednisolone”

  1. Anonymous said

    Heeeeeeeeey Phil! Well Im not surprised your feeling a bit bummed out, cos obviously you were expecting to have made more progress than you have. You definitely need to get your ass back to the docs cos there’s no point lowering your dose if it hasnt done the trick yet.
    Ill be keeping my fingers and toes crossed for ya. Not cos Im supersticious or anything just cos I like to practise a bizarre form of yoga sitting at the computer. ;O)
    Hope todays a good one for ya!
    Moocho love Daf xxx

    • Anonymous said

      Why am I anonymous?? I coulda sworn I’d signed in. Oh dear… guess Im having another inept day ;O) xxx

    • Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeee it’s Anonymous! 🙂

      I didn’t go back to the Doc’s, I couldn’t have made it that day anyway or guranteed I could make the appointment if I made one for the following day. So I rang them instead and explained the sitution, so he rang me back and we had a chat about it. He agreed I should stay on four tabs for the next two weeks, then wean myself off them.

      You and your weird Indian Yoga stuff! I still don’t see what crossing ya fingers and toes, covering yourself in Elephant dung and chanting cheeky girl’s songs do for your health! But if ya wanna do it, then it’s all good! ahaha

      Talk soon mate and check ya e-mails later! Hugskisss for Anonymouskiiiiiiiiii 😉 x

  2. prenin said

    I think you are right Phil – I hope the doctor understands…

    God Bless my friend – I know you don’t believe, but I’m saying a prayer for you anyway!!!

    • The Doc understood, I spoke to him on the phone yesterday, he’s agreed with me to extend the 4 tabs for another two weeks. So we’ll see what happens, and I’m hoping I wont have any flare-ups again.

      Pray if you like, others have done it, not made a bit of difference. But if you feel it helps then go for it. 🙂

      Havea good day, man! 🙂

  3. Pete Judge said

    I can see your frustrations – no real pattern, things not quite how you would expect but still some positive sides. I really hoped by now there would have been an upward spiral and consistent benefits are starting to come through. Just cling to the good days.
    Keep your spirits up mate

    Pete

    • Cheers, mate! 🙂 I couldn’t remember the dose I had before so I wasn’t sure what to expect. Now I know! However, spoke to the doc yesterday on the phone, he’s agreed with me that I need to extend my 4 tabs a day for another 2 weeks. Which should help things along.

      Thanks for the words of support, Pete! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
