I Don't Fear The Chaos!

Questioning Everything and Everyone!

  • Wankers Of The Week Archive
  • For readers outside of Wordpress: Enter your email address to Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 48 other followers

Ulcerative Colitis Diary: Week Five On Prednisolone

Posted by DeadAnarchistPhil on February 22, 2011

                                                                                          

                                                                        Week Five

 

Green = How well I feel 1 being the best and 10 being the worse.

Blue = Depression. Again, on a scale as above.

Treatment for: Ulcerative Colitis.

Medication, Direction and Course as follows:

Prednisolone : Take four 5mg Tablets daily for four weeks [Now six weeks], then cut down by one tablet a week each week over the next four [Now three] weeks.

Day 29 Tue 15th Feb 2011: Woke up at 7:20AM, so far not been to the toilet and not had much bloating.

Went to the toilet, only went three times, and no blood again! Strange! Bed tim: 11pm (5/10) (6/10)

Day 30 Wed 16th Feb 2011: Woke up at 7:20AM, felt bloated and tender. Came down stairs had breakfast and phoned the Docs and explained my problem with the tabs. Going to ring me back later.

Went to the toilet, only went twice, wasn’t formed but there was no blood again. After that I had to have a lie down, I was tired, I think I slept a for three-quarters of an hour. When I got up the Doc rang me, he agrees I should stay on the four tabs a day for another two weeks and then wean myself off them by dropping a tablet a week from the course. Something it didn’t say on the box. It said go down to one tablet a day over the next four weeks, which would’ve been a bad thing for me! You can’t just come off Prednisolone like that, you have Prednisone/Prednisolone withdrawal from it. Got to sleep about 11:30pm.  (5/10) (6/10)

Day 31 Thu 17th Feb 2011: Woke up at 7AM and just dozed a little, got up, had my breakfast and meds. Not feeling too bad, hopefully visit the toilet later.

Feeling a little bloated, but not too bad. Went to bed at 10:30PM.  (5/10) (6/10)

Day 32 Fri 18th Feb 2011: Woke up at 8am, had breakfast then had to hit the toilet, was somewhat better today, with a little blood, but nowhere near as much as I used to get. But still, hoping for the best in two weeks time, if not I’ll have to come off the Prednisolone and let my body recover before attempting it again but on a higher dose. That’ll be another Month wait which will take me in to late April! I was hoping to have got better enough to start exercising and going out by then. I’m starting to think I wont be at that level untill Mid-June!

Went to bed at 11:30PM (5/10) (6/10)

Day 33 Sat 19th Feb 2011: Had a lie in today, got up at 9:15am. Went to the toilet not long after getting up, no blood and still not that formed. I’m not expecting any success on the current dosage. If I expect no change I wont be disappointed at the end of it. I’ll have more success when I start a higher dose some time in Summer.

I’m getting more acne on my chest, shoulders, back and head (under the hair-line), luckily enough not got much on my face yet!

Going to bed 11pm. (5/10) (7/10)

Day 34 Sun 20th Feb 2011: Went to the toilet not long after I woke up, better formed and no blood again.

My anxiety and OCD mindset is starting to get on my nerves again! I wish could gain control of them and stop thinking this way because it’s so illogical, and ultimately, detrimental to my health!

Went to bed around 11pm, didn’t get to sleep untill gone 12AM (6/10) (7/10)

Day 35 Mon 21st Feb 2011: Woke up at 9AM! My sleeping pattern is slipping again, I just felt so tired and didn’t have a good sleep anyway, kept waking up. Went to the toilet not long after I got up, more formed and no blood. Currently no bloating or soreness, though the acne is getting worse!

Not had any need to go to the toilet since I went this morning. Only side effects I’m having at the moment is ithcy Acne on my back and head! I’m going to start using the acne soloution Dalacin T I got from the Dermotologist. I held off using it because I haven’t had any bad acne lately and it can cause the UC to get worse! Have a read of this:

Not to be used in

  • Allergy to the antibiotic lincomycin.
  • Allergy to propylene glycol or cetostearyl alcohol.
  • People with sensitive skin.
  • People with a history of inflammatory bowel disease such as Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis.
  • History of inflammation of the large intestine due to antibioitc treatment (antibiotic-associated colitis).

This medicine should not be used if you are allergic to any of its ingredients. Please inform your doctor or pharmacist if you have previously experienced such an allergy.

If you feel you have experienced an allergic reaction, stop using this medicine and inform your doctor or pharmacist immediately.”

My Dermotologist gave me that, and she knows I have UC, will be having words with her about that. I think I’ll ring the Pharmacy tomorrow and ask what I should do. Will go to bed late no doubt tonight, around 12am! Must get up early tomorrow! (4/10) (6/10)

8 Responses to “Ulcerative Colitis Diary: Week Five On Prednisolone”

  1. prenin said

    Overall it sounds like you are improving!!!

    Best of British my friend – you’ll get there eventually!!! 🙂

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

    • I am, but I haven’t got back to the point I was before I started bleeding again.

      I will get there in the end, it’s just going to take longer, which is what I didn’t want to happen. But, not much I can do about it.

      Thanks for the support, Ian! 🙂

  2. Pete Judge said

    Just when you think there is the slightest of lights at the end of the tunnel……..
    I can imagine your frustrations. It is a worry that you were given something that does react to a condition you are known to have. Mind you, every time I take my daughter to the doctor if they prescribe something I still automatically remind them of the other meds she is on – I just couldn’t take the risk!!
    On to next week and fingers crossed – a better one.
    Take care
    Pete

    • Hiya Pete,

      Yeh, I’m getting sick of writing about it! Feel like I’m moaning to you all, doesn’t feel right! It’s one of the reasons why I never blogged it much before!

      I haven’t seen my dermatologist for over a year because the appointment keeps getting pushed back or I miss it because of the UC. I can’t can’t remember if she give it to me or my Doc did! But as she’s the Derm, I’m assuming it was here. She must’ve had a reason, because she’s quite a competent Doctor, one of the best I’ve ever met! But I will ring the Pharmacy tomorrow (I forgot today) and ask them for advice and ask the Dermatologist about her choice of medicine.

      Um, this week aint so good so far, I have an headache and a rapid heartbeat! 😛 But the UC seems to be getting a little better, or at least getting to the point where it was prior to going backwards last week!

      Thanks for your thoughts and kind words on the subject! 🙂

      Take care yourself, Mate! 🙂

  3. hrhdaf said

    Heeeeeey Phil! Gawd if its not one thing its another innit? I mean tablets that help in one area but then make you feel like an acnefied 17 year old again. Then stuff for that that makes the UC play up. Surely there are enough treatments on the market for the doc to be able to give you something that doesnt actually mess with the thing your trying to sort out in the first place? Cos isnt that just kinda gonna cause a vicious circle? I think you should take to biting the medical people you deal with and when they go ‘what ya doooin?’ say ‘oh its not my fault its the vicious circle’ For some reason people take more notice of you if you go biting em and acting like a nut job! (Well so I hear anyway I have no personal experience of this no no no) Havent bitten anyone for aaaaaages cos your not really allowed once your a growd up which is pants cos as a child I quite enjoyed sinking my teeth into someone that was annoying me. Overshare maybe? LMAO!

    Anyway hope they manage to switch your medication for something that wont mess with ya!

    Hugs Daf xxx

    • Hiya Dafski! 🙂

      I know, been here before with the adverse reactions! I will talk to the Doc and get some ‘Zineryt‘, which is what I used before the one I currently have. I think I stoped using it because it contains ‘erythromycin‘ which is a antibitoitc, the same antibiotic I was taking in tablet form before I developed the UC for persistant acne I had until I took Roaccutane. You wont know this, but erythromycin and other antibiotics have be cited as a possible cause of UC! As has Roaccutane, luckily I already had UC when I took it, eh?

      And you’re right, it will cause a vicious circle, as we’ve discussed before. So in fact, it’ll add to the three circles that perpetuate each other I’ve already got going! But my face was ruined by the last bout of bad acne, not like I got looks to lose or somert! 😛

      Biting medical people? Hmmm Not sure about that, people are scared of me as it is, apparently I have a mean face! hahaha. I was never a biter as a child, but you look the type, couple that with your ‘Daf effect’ and it’s a recipe for madness! And you knows it! lol

      We’ll see what happens with the meds, hopefully it wont be as a bad a slast time, because the Roaccutane is supposed to keep the acne moderately at bay for the rest of your life with just one course! Which it has done to a degree, but with help from the Steroids it may get worse.

      Hugs to tha Daf one and huggles! 🙂 xx

      • hrhdaf said

        All Im gonna say is dont dismiss biting out of hand. I mean when all else fails what you got to lose? Aw and people are scared of you? Youre obviously gonna have to start wearing a kitten suit and carrying a sign that says I HAZ CHEEZBURGERS or some such guff. Although that kinda thing scares me much more than you ever have. Cos ya havent ;O) Aaaaaand Im sniggering at myself again so I should probably leeeave!
        xxx

        • hahaha I think that would scare people even more! Not to worry though, my glasses soften the look, makes me look less aggressive and more dorky. I think it’s my really short hair that scares people, they think I’m a skinhead! lol

          Ya don’t haz 2 leve, come bak an haz sum cheezburgerz! 😉

          Much love and hugs, mate! 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

 
