I Don't Fear The Chaos!

Questioning Everything and Everyone!

  • Wankers Of The Week Archive
  • For readers outside of Wordpress: Enter your email address to Subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 48 other followers

Ulcerative Colitis Diary: Week Seven On Prednisolone

Posted by DeadAnarchistPhil on March 8, 2011

 

                                                                                    WEEK SEVEN

Green = How well I feel 1 being the best and 10 being the worse.

Blue = Depression. Again, on a scale as above.

Treatment for: Ulcerative Colitis.

Medication, Direction and Course as follows:

Prednisolone : Take four 5mg Tablets daily for four weeks [Now six weeks], then cut down by one tablet a week each week over the next four [Now three] weeks.

Day 43 Tue 1st March 2011: Even though I went to bed early last night I couldn’t sleep, had a rapid heart beat and my head and neck were itching because of the acne. So I was awake untill gone 2:30AM and woke up around 9:30AM. Went to the toilet not long after I got up, things seem the same as yesterday, also no blood. OCD and anxiety doesn’t seem so bad today. (5/10) (6/10)

Day 44 Wed 2nd March 2011: Woke up at 9:10AM, felt bloated. Had some breakfast and then later I had dinner. After that I went to clean the Bathroom. Of course, before I even started I had to use the toilet. So, while I was cleaning I was on and off the toilet! Three times if I remember correctly. Makes me wonder what it’d be like if I did exercise. Motion was same as yesterday, with no blood. OCD wasn’t as bad today, though I did have a rapid heartbeat for a time. (5/10) (6/10)

Day 45 Thu 3rd March 2011: Woke up, felt bloated and not been to the toilet today at all. OCD been up again, but as bad as what it has been. (6/10) (5/10)

Day 46 Friday 4th March 2011: Woke up late, felt tired and bloated and went to the toilet as soon as I got up. Same as yesterday really. OCD still a pain. I had such a headache I had to lay down for a while, I felt so tired and fucked off that I fell to sleep for two and half hours. The acne on my upper neck and scalp has gotten worse, but isn’t as bad on my neck or chest! I will be taking to the dermatologist on Monday about it. (5/10) (6/10)

Day 47 Sat 5th March 2011: Because I fell asleep yesterday afternoon I had trouble sleeping. I went to bed at 1:30am but ended up with a headache, rapid heartbeat and the Obsessive thinking becoming worse again, so I got back up and took some pain killers. I was awake untill 5:30am and got up at 11am today. So far, no bloating and no pain yet.

Went to the toilet in late afternoon, only went twice, but was so tired after it (was tired before I went though) and ended up going to sleep for an hour or so. No blood and same as last time. OCD still a pain. (4/10) (6/10)

Day 48 Sun 6th March 2011: Woke up late 10:30am, had breakfast and ended up going for a lay down at 2:30pm and fell asleep untill 5pm. I’m at that point again where I don’t want to be seen, spoken to, have to think or bother with anything. I’ve been like this before but I’m not sure if it’s the lowering of the prednisolone dose or caused by the increased OCD. Anyway, not been to the toilet yet, if I don’t go today then I wont be able to make it to the Doctors tomorrow, because I don’t want to take the chance having not gone the day or night before!

I went to the toilet, it was better formed than it has been for a while, there was no blood and I wasn’t on there for more than 10 minutes! That is progress! Just a matter of it staying that way! (4/10) (7/10)

Day 49 Mon 7th March 2011: Yesterday I went to bed around 1:30am, but didn’t get to sleep untill an hour later. I woke up early, 7:30am, and managed to get to the Doctors without much trouble. He gave me Zineryt for the acne, something I’ve had before that worked, see how it goes. The Doc said I should stay on at least one 5mg tablet (I’m down to two a day tomorrow 8th March 2011) untill I see the UC Prof in April! I was meant to see him in March but owning to “clinical availability” I can’t see him. And, from what the Doc said I wont be seeing him when I do go! Apparently a lot of the jobs the Profs and Docs had are now being managed by nurses. They can prescribe and advise on meds. Obviously this is part of the NHS cost cutting! Some profs and docs were paid too much to keep them in the NHS, but now… I think we can all see what’s going to happen! Anyway, OCT/D (Obsessive Compulsive Thinking/Disorder. I think OCT fits me better) is still strong and I felt really bad over the weekend, but not feel that bad today, though it is only 4:20pm. (4/10) (6/10)

4 Responses to “Ulcerative Colitis Diary: Week Seven On Prednisolone”

  1. Pete Judge said

    I see a few 4’s in there which is really good, really positive.
    Not without it’s fucking side effects though is it? Which I can imagine are so frustrating.
    Still, even if there was just a shuffle, it was a shuffle in the right direction.
    The NHS cuts are worrying me too. It is disgracefully that anyone deserving should have anything less than 100% service as and when they need it but then if you live in a country that lets anyone in and have as much of the free services they want, it will always be the decent that are affected most isn’t it?

    Take care

    • As you know, it’s hard for me to look on the bright side of anything positive as I still have a few more negatives to deal with. Negatives that could and can derail the positive steps I’ve taken. I know this can happen because I’ve been here beore a few times. You are right, positive steps have been made, I just hope I can build them!

      I agree with you on the NHS. As well as having people using it who haven’t and most likely wont contribute towards it, we also have procedures available on the NHS that simply shouldn’t be. Some are purely for vanity issues and cost the NHS money that could be going elsewhere. In the future the NHS wont have any other option but to cut those services.

      Thanks for your thoughts and support, mate.

  2. prenin said

    Judging from what you’ve been saying Phil you ARE improving, even if it is slowly!!!

    Rome wasn’t built in a day my friend and I guess the OCT is because you don’t have anything to occupy your mind – smart people seem to suffer a lot from this…

    Remember, you ARE improving and be of good heart – hope the Nurse is as sexy as my Nurse, Emma!!! LoL!!!

    God Bless my friend!

    Prenin.

    • Indeed you’re right, Ian! Just today it’s the best it’s been since 2008! I hope it stays like that way while I’m on 1 tablet for next four weeks!

      I do try to occupy my mind, will start my open u course in May, before that I’m preping for it, will post some of the better pieces on here. Um, also been planning to learn guitar and start painting again, but the Guitar needs tuning and the Painting requires me to be in the mood for it, otherwise I’ll come out all wrong.

      Have a good evening, man! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
